Tackling the Master Bedroom

As I mentioned in my earlier post, wp.me/p1J3zG-o , there has been a lot of redecorating going on in our first home.  Exciting, but also very overwhelming at times.  I knew one of the first projects we needed to tackle was the master bedroom.  Let me refresh your memory here:

Bedroom Before Pic

As you can see, the room had wallpaper, as well as 4 (FOUR!!) wall sconces, 2 reading lamps installed into the wall on either side of the bed, a ceiling fan and a spotlight (?!?!?) that illuminated a painting over the bed.  OKAAAAY…

The first step was to remove the wallpaper, which was a project onto itself.  As The Husband (as he will now be referred) was working and I was not at the time, I was able to do some work there on the weekdays. Luckily, I also have a very handy father who did more than his fair share of work on the room.  The wallpaper must have been put up 20 + years ago with industrial-strength super glue, because no matter what we tried – soaking, soaping, scraping, our efforts were futile.  Until we found this magical blue goo that finally did the trick.  It took about 5 bottles of the stuff, but the wallpaper was finally off!  Oh and did I mention that the back of the bedroom door and the switch plates were also covered in wallpaper?  No?  Well, they were.

Next step was to call in the electrician to remove the SIX (!!!) wall lights as well as the ceiling fan and spotlight (seriously?).  After that was complete, my dear father was back on the clock, putting up sheet rock to cover the holes, spackling and priming (I helped with this part).  Now that we had a blank canvas,

What color to paint the walls???

Pantone image via Google.com

Fancy friends say...

