I’m Thankful for My Hometown

Today’s topic in the Plenty to be Thankful For challenge – I’m Thankful for My Hometown. You can go here to find out more about the topics and link up!

I grew up on Long Island, but my heart belongs to New York City.  And even though I now live about 30 minutes north  – I’m always doing something in the city. This is the place I went to college, got my first real job, rented my first apartment and met The Husband.

Even though it’s relatively young, New York has such a rich history and it’s constantly evolving and changing.  That’s what I love about it. I can walk down the same street for years, and discover something new each time – a shop, museum, restaurant, etc. The city is alive and there’s always something new to discover.

Here are some of my favorite things to do in NY:

Visit a museum – My favorite is the Metropolitan Museum of Art on the Upper East Side.  You can come here 100 times and not see everything.  Plus they always have fantastic special exhibits, and even just sitting on the steps can be entertaining.

Get lost in the West Village – there’s no grid here so you can just wind your way through the streets and discover new things.  It’s also interesting to watch W. 4th Street cross W. 12th Street and Waverly Place intersect itself.

Sit and read in the park – my parks of choice are Washington Square and Union Square. They’re both also great for people-watching.

Go to Lincoln Center – this is one of my absolute favorite places in the city.  There’s just something so “New York” about it.  I feel so happy when I get to see a performance here whether it’s the New York City Ballet, New York Philharmonic or Metropolitan Opera.   I’m going to see the Nutcracker in a few weeks (for the millionth time) and I can’t wait!

The Strand – this is a great bookstore that sells new and used books.  Although it’s been spruced up A LOT since my first visit in college, it still maintains a scruffy air about it. I love scouring vintage book stores in general, and NY has lots of them.

Kiehl’s  – you can pretty much find Kiehl’s products in any major dept. store now, but there’s still something special about going to their original location in the East Village – it’s been a part of the neighborhood for over 150 years!

Shopping – there’s tons of shopping in NY.  I love to check out vintage stores and independent shops as well as chains to find a great mix of items.  And there’s nothing like strolling down Madison Avenue (even if it is to just window-shop).


What are some of your favorite NYC activities?

All images via Pinterest.com, except Madison Ave, via google.com

8 comments

  1. Seeing The Nutcracker at the Lincoln Center sounds magical! I live in the ‘burbs of Philly and still have never been to NYC during the holidays. I have got to make a point of getting up there soon.

    Like

  2. Okay, so this is the first post today where I could actually look at pictures people posted and be able to say “I know that place!” I LOVE NYC. My friends and I take day trips down several times a year. Last year we even braved the tree lighting in Rockefeller Center… greatest city ever.
    Thank you for linking up!

    -Sam

    Like

  3. I went there once when i was 13 with my family for a festival and I loved it but I want to go again now in my twenties =) I’m sure it’ll be a total different experiment!!!

    Like

  4. Here from the THANKful challenge!

    I have only lived in California, but been to NY quite a bit. Love it – amazing town! Can’t imagine what a hustle and bustle life it is to live there all the time though!

    Like

Fancy friends say...

