Thanksgiving Weekend and Heading to Christmas

Hope everyone had a nice holiday!  I know I’m a little late with this but I’ve been a busy bee!

And today I’m linking up with Amber and Neely for their Holiday Blog Challenge.
Check it out here!   Today’s topic –  Favorite Holiday Movies/TV Specials (see below).
We had such a great Thanksgiving weekend and now I’m looking forward to the Christmas season!
We spent Thursday with The Husband’s family and ate entirely too much food!  Then Friday, we went out to see my parents, accomplished some shopping along the way, and then the 4 of us had dinner at the place The Husband and I had our wedding reception last year.

The Inn at New Hyde Park

Here are some photos we took that helped get me in the Christmas spirit as we walked through one of my favorite Christmas store stops since I was a kid – Hicks Nurseries.

Saturday we watched one of our favorite Christmas movies – Christmas Vacation, and now we’re looking forward to decorating, picking out our tree and watching all the specials that bring me back to my childhood.  Some of my favorites are:

Charlie Brown Christmas
Garfield Christmas
How the Grinch Stole Christmas

And some obscure specials that I think only I know:

Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas

Red Skelton’s Christmas – I think my dad taped this from HBO once and a Christmas classic was born!

And of course favorite movies like A Christmas StoryElf, Love Actually, Scrooged and even Meet me in St. Louis (which has my favorite Christmas song, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas)

Happy Holiday Season!!

2 comments

  1. That store looks like a dream come true! I have never seen Meet Me In St. Louis but now I am thinking about giving it a try, and I love Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas!

    Like

Fancy friends say...

