Mom’s Chicken and Rice

Well I think I may be getting the hang of this cooking thing after all!  The Husband and I usually try to cook together but if one of us can’t be there, go it on our own.  And last night I made my mom’s chicken and rice recipe – and it came out great!  (If I do say so myself)  😉

She got the recipe from a co-worker about 30 years ago!  When I called her for it, she gave me a lot of “approximate” measurements.  Gotta love those old-school Italians! But I followed it and viola – chicken and rice!  Here’s the “recipe” if you’d like to try it yourself!

1.5 pounds boneless chicken thighs (she uses bone-in thighs and legs but I figured this was a bit simpler)
1 medium onion rough chopped
garlic powder (I like this one )
paprika
olive oil
1 cup uncooked rice (recipe to follow)
chicken bullion cubes (or chicken stock)

Pre-heat oven to 400

Season chicken with sprinkling of garlic and paprika on both sides

Place chicken into lightly oiled baking pan and sprinkle with half of the chopped onion and a drizzle of oil to keep moist
Cook on 400 for 30 minutes – turning over after 20 minutes
Lower heat to 350 and cook for another 20 minutes – adding the rest of the onion
While the chicken is cooking, boil the rice with a few bullion cubes in the water or a water/stock mixture (about 2 cups of liquid)

When the rice and chicken are both done, remove chicken from pan and add rice to pan, mixing it with the onions and drippings

Place chicken on top of rice mixture and cook for 10 more minutes

Serve and enjoy!
Fancy friends say...

