Cherry Blossoms in Bloom

One of the best parts about Spring (to me anyay!) are the blooming cherry blossoms.  I think they are such pretty flowers, but unfortunately, have a very short peak time.  A few years back, The Husband and I were able to go down to DC during their cherry blossom festival weekend and it was a lot of fun.

Another event I love to attend is the Sakura Matsuri Cherry Blossom Festival at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, which is taking place April 28-29.

http://www.bbg.org/visit/event/sakura_matsuri_2012/

It’s such a fun event and you can explore the gardens, see the cherry blossom esplanade, lilac trees, Shakespeare garden and so much more.  There’s Japanese cultural events and food there as well, and one of my favorite events is the taiko drum performance.  Each year, Soh Daiko performs at the event and if you’ve never heard this type of drumming before, it is really very entertaining, fast-paced and fun.

If you have the chance, I highly recommend taking a visit to see the cherry blossoms at BBG or a park in your area!

First image via pinterest.com


One comment

  1. I didn’t get down to DC this year to see them but J went down last week for work right after we got back from NOLA. I’ve seen the pix so I’ll have to do with that for now. And I definitely would love to go to the Sakura Matsuri Cherry Blossom Festival!

    Like

Fancy friends say...

