Many Are Called

I’m in the midst of reading a book called Rules of Civility by Amor Towles. So far I’m really liking it, as it takes me on a journey to 1930’s New York.

One thing mentioned in the beginning of the book was the 1960’s Many Are Called photography exhibit and subsequent book by Walker Evans. This was a series of candid photographs he took on the subway system in the 1930’s.

I always find imagery such as this fascinating – wondering what the stories and backgrounds are of each of these seemingly everyday, nondescript people riding the subway.  Where are they going? Where are they coming from? This is something I often wonder as I ride the subway and am seated across from someone.

I’ve found images from this series online and thought I’d post some that intrigue me.

I’ll let you know how I liked the book once I’m finished.  🙂

Images via Google.com

One comment

Fancy friends say...

