The Written Word

As I’ve mentioned before, I love to write and that’s one of the many reasons I have this blog. I didn’t used to have all that much confidence in my writing ability – I think this may just be the perfectionist in me, but I was never one to think my writing could really take me anywhere.

I’ve been in the workforce for about 10 years now and I’ve always worked at small PR firms. And what were my main day-to-day activities? Writing. And I found that bosses, clients, media contacts, etc. all seemed to compliment me and think the pieces I wrote were really good. Now, I’m not saying this gave me a big head by any means, but I guess it did give me a bit of an ego boost – but more along the lines of thinking, hey this is something I’m good at, how can I pursue this in other ventures?

At my current job, I am the go-to writer when it comes to projects. I like this, as I definitely enjoy the writing process. But I also want to fulfill myself outside of my job and take on projects for myself. So I am happy to announce I just had my first paid writing assignment for a freelance job! Now, this may not sound like a huge deal, but it really is to me. It proves to me that this is something I can do and keep pursing down different avenues. I have lots of goals and ambitions towards writing and this is just the first step.

What are some of your long-term goals?

4 comments

  1. That’s awesome Christine! Good for you. You said it, this is just the first step. I’d love to have an interior/event design bussiness some day. Not sure how to get there yet but definitely it’s something I’m looking into. Again congrats!

    Like

Fancy friends say...

