Birthday and a Broadway Show

Last week was my birthday, so The Husband and I celebrated on Saturday with a day in the city.

First, he surprised me with tickets to see Evita on Broadway. And it was really good! I had only ever seen the movie, so when I heard the show was being revived on Broadway, I really wanted to go and The Husband remembered!  Ricky Martin is one of the stars and I have to say, he was very good in the role. I remember seeing him in Les Miserables back in the mid-90’s.  Haha  😉

You know, whenever I have to be in Times Square for something, I walk to my destination as quickly as possible. It’s not a place I like to stroll or linger. So, I’ve never really looked at this statue of George M. Cohan (subject of one of my favorite movies, Yankee Doodle Dandy) up close before. I stumbled upon it while buying water from a vendor. Sometimes it really is good to slow down and take in your surroundings.

After the show, we made our way downtown to have dinner at John’s of 12th Street. I’ve always heard good things about this restaurant, but even having lived only 3 blocks from it for 3 years, had never been. The food was delicious and the wait staff very attentive. I had the pappardelle with meat ragu and practically devoured the whole thing!

Needing to walk off our dinners, we made our way to Union Square, shopped around a bit and then sat in the park, relaxed and did some old-fashioned people-watching. It was a great day and a fun way to spend my birthday!
3 comments

  1. Happy belated bday! Sounds like a great way to spend a bday. I’ve been wanting to see Evita but first I have to get around to seeing Book of Mormom. Think I’m going to get tix for our anniversary in September. And I love John’s. It’s right near my apt 🙂 Hope you’re having a great start to the week.

    Like

Fancy friends say...

