Eating our way through Chicago

I wanted to do a round-up of some of the great restaurants we tried while in Chicago. Everything we had was really tasty, with good portions, and I have to say, very reasonable prices.

You can’t go to Chicago without trying deep dish pizza, right? So why not try three?  😉  We started our pizza adventure with Giordano’s. Now, this pizza goes way beyond deep dish, as it has an extra layer of crust on top making it a stuffed pizza. We ordered the small which came with 6 (!!) slices!  We could barely get through 2 each, but it was so delicious.
That night, we headed to Wicker Park and checked out the BBQ at Lillie’s Q. The Husband had pulled chicken and I had the pulled pork and they were both so good! The table comes complete with a variety of sauces to try and each one had its own unique flavor.
Thursday morning brought us to Yolk for a hearty breakfast. I ordered the stuffed peach crepes, hold the Grand Marnier please. I know alcohol mostly cooks off when heated but I didn’t want to chance it and frankly, I’m just not a fan of Grand Marnier. This was the only place we had a little snafu b/c my dish came with the liquor doused all over it. Then the chef came out to tell me making it without would compromise the taste of her creation. So what? That’s what I asked for, so I really don’t mind. Peach crepes take two were very tasty – I just hope nobody spit in my food! 😉
Deep dish pizza number 2 came courtesy of the original Gino’s East off of Michigan Avenue. This was a traditional deep dish and a bit smaller than Giordano’s. Still very good, but I think Giordano’s had the edge over Gino’s.

The aftermath

Heading over to Andersonville, we ate at the Hopleaf Brewery, sharing a very tasty brisket sandwich and a mountain of fries!

The next day brought lunch at RJ Grunt’s in Lincoln Park. Apparently they invented the salad bar when they opened in 1971. I don’t know how true this is, but the salad bar certainly featured a ton of options.

I opted for a barbecued chicken sandwich with bacon and frizzled onions – yum! Our waitress asked if it was our first time there and as it was, they brought us a surprise dessert at the end – a warm chocolate chip cookie sundae! If we had known, we would have saved some more room for dessert. 🙂

The French Market is a new indoor specialty foods market that reminded me of the Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia. We stopped in for lunch on Saturday and had another great pulled chicken sandwich from Flip Crepes and a cherry pastry from Delightful Pastries to chase it down!
Our third and final stop on our deep dish quest was Lou Malnati’s. This was another fantastic option – yet the only one that wasn’t messy enough to need a knife and fork. While I really liked it, I still have to say, Giordano’s was our clear winner!

And since I had to see what all the hype was about, I got the Chicago mix (cheddar and caramel) at Garret’s popcorn. The line wasn’t too long so we got a small bag.

I was not going to spend $35 on popcorn just to get a commemorative tin! It was good, so at least I can say I’ve tried it. Even though when I got there, I found out that there’s one in Penn Station – ha!  Oh well – at least I can say I got mine in Chicago and not in NY.

Chicago was a great city to visit and to eat in and we can’t wait to go back again!

Salad bar, brisket and popcorn images via google.com

2 comments

Fancy friends say...

