From Red to Tan

Well we are starting the process of getting our second bedroom ready to become the nursery! When we moved in 2 years ago, The Husband really wanted a red room. This was really the only thing he asked for design-wise, so I obliged, even though I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. We tried many paint samples and ended up with Benjamin Moore’s Caliente and I was really pleasantly surprised with the results. 
 

We turned the room into our office/reading/music room and decorated with an eclectic mix of books, travel photos and vintage posters. Unfortunately I never took a picture of the completed space, but this is what the paint color looked like.

 

Well, Caliente is no longer and we have changed the walls to Behr’s Smoked Oyster. I knew I didn’t want a standard “pink for girls” color scheme, instead opting for something that was more of a soft grey/taupe color, and Smoked Oyster did the trick. It’s a bit lighter than I expected but I really like the soft tones. We’re keeping the couch in here since it doubles as a pull-out bed and will also work well for middle of the night feedings.

 

(Not the best picture, but you get the idea)

 

The crib is assembled and now we just have to get a dresser, book shelf/shelving and the most important part – decorations and accessories!  😉  I’ve been getting a lot of finds on Etsy and am using some prints from my own library of books. I can’t wait to do more in this room and share the results with everyone. Stay tuned!

Also, I did promise The Husband that his red room will make another appearance once we get a house.  🙂

 
Fancy friends say...

