Falling for Fall

There are so many activities I’m looking forward to doing this fall that I thought I’d do a round-up here of some of them:

Getting apples/pumpkins/cider

I love doing this and these are my favorite places to go:

Hicks Nursery – for pumpkins, decorations and of course, Otto the Ghost’s Halloween spectacular  😉

Jericho Cider Mill – hands down, the best and freshest cider I’ve ever tasted. They also sell a variety of apples, pies and jams – and their apple crumble is amazing!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/jericho-cider-mill-jericho

Westchester Greenhouse – for pumpkins, local produce and baked goods.

Book sales

Two of our local libraries hold annual book sales each fall. It’s a great place to wander around and leisurely check out what books we want to add to our ever-growing library.

Blue Hill Farms/Stone Barns

This local farm/restaurant is a really fun place to go in the fall. You can walk around the grounds and see all of the different animals and vegetation. There is also a shop, cafe and world-class restaurant on the premises. Sadly last time we went, they were taking orders for Thanksgiving turkeys – and then we ended up walking past said turkeys, oblivious to their fate!

http://www.bluehillfarm.com/

The Cloisters

I know, I know, I’ve been saying for a while that I want to go here, but I do think it might be best to take a trip there this fall when the leaves are changing color and the air is crisp.

http://www.metmuseum.org/visit/visit-the-cloisters

Football

I have to say, I do enjoy going to a game or two each season. And this year we’re taking a road trip to Pittsburgh to watch the Jets play the Steelers. So we get to see a game while taking a mini-vacation at the same time.

What’s on your list of fun fall activities?

Images via google.com

Fancy friends say...

