Reading is Fundamental

I love to read but its taken a bit of a back seat lately. I usually like to read at night before going to bed but I’ve either been busy with work or just too tired to do very much of it lately. But I’m making a big effort to change that. I haven’t set any exact goals, but I definitely need to read more this year. Here are some books I’m looking forward to reading.

Jim Henson: The Biography, by Brian Jay Jones

JimHenson-BiographyCover1
Since I was little, I was a big fan of the Muppets. They’re a part of my childhood so it was sad when Jim Henson died (and I can’t believe its been over 20 years). Think of everything he might have accomplished. I can’t wait to take a look inside the mind of this fascinating man.

New York Diaries: 1609 to 2009

9780679643326_custom-c54f0d4a0f93fc191a20db5f9054e92c20852a79-s6-c30

Written in chronological order over the course of one calendar year, this book spans the first 400 years in the life of the city, culling diary entries from a multitude of its inhabitants. Andy Warhol, Mark Twain and George Washington are just a few of the many voices writing about this great city.

The New York Nobody Knows by William B. Helmreich

New-York-Nobody-Knows

The author took it upon himself to walk every single street that makes up the City of New York. Five boroughs, 6,000 miles in total. It took him over 4 years to complete this task and the book takes us along on his adventures and the fascinating people he met along the way.

Fancy friends say...

