Yet Another Recipe Post

url

We all know this past Sunday was the Super Bowl. Although our team wasn’t in it, we were happy to see the Seahawks win. We had some friends over to watch the game, and I wanted to make some new dishes.  So I decided to try my hand at chicken wings for the first time as well as try a new dessert – and they were both huge hits!

I saw this recipe on ABC’s The Chew earlier in the week and modified it slightly. In case you’re interested, my modifications were as follows:

Since I didn’t have coconut oil on hand, I used canola, but would go with olive oil next time

I omitted ginger as I’m not a fan of the flavor

Instead of seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper I used garlic powder

I used sweet chili sauce instead of chili flakes

I have to say, these came out great! I would definitely use the recipe again for baking chicken cutlets or thighs.

IMG_5086

Sorry for the somewhat blurry pictures! But you get the idea 🙂

I was going to make cupcakes for dessert, but wanted to try something different, so I asked a friend for her cookie bar recipe. This one was super easy, and so good!

You take 1 box of yellow cake mix and combine it with a stick of softened butter. Spread and press evenly onto a cookie sheet. Top with chocolate and butterscotch chips then drizzle with sweetened condensed milk. Bake at 325 for 20 minutes and voila! Again, you can play around with the ingredients, maybe use chocolate cake mix, white chocolate or peanut butter chips, add some nuts, etc. These were so well-liked that I even sent guests home with doggie bags!

IMG_5087

So here’s to another successful Super Bowl Sunday. Can’t wait to do it again next year!

Fancy friends say...

